Five new bags for fall

I decided to take a short break from gathering more supplies and turn out some new stuff. It was a short break, because I feel like I need to get as much second hand shopping in as possible before winter sets in. Here’s what I came up with last week:

I combined all the different bark cloth and vintage linen I had and came up with this beauty. The San Diego Transit patch on the front flap sort of matches the vintage Wembley necktie I used for the strap and interior pocket, but that’s where the matching stops. My friend said the pattern on the front looked like Brussels sprouts. I’ll take that as a compliment.

I made a bag a couple weeks ago with a flower pattern made from vintage buttons on the front flap. It sold almost immediately, so using buttons as embellishments is my new jam. Pink and green floral patterns rule this bag. Recognize that fern pattern on the sheet I used for the liner? I think everyone had a set of these sheets at some point. My mom sure did.

I went with a secondary colors scheme on this one. First, I found that tan, green and purple fabric at the Salvation Army. It was also half price, so that was a bonus. The very next day, I found the vintage chenille band letter from 1939 in an antiques mall. I knew immediately that I had to combine these two elements with some matching fabric. Here is the end result.

I recently made a red, white, and blue bag that featured a vintage towel for the front flap and it was big hit. So I decided to follow it up with another bag with a patriotic color scheme. I had this sweet clip-on tie that I decided to use the bottom of it for the front pocket. It had a small flaw on the lower left, but hey, the awesome pattern makes up for all that. The top of the pocket is red corduroy and has a black pearl snap closure.

But the cherry on top of this bag is the new old stock bowling patch from the bicentennial. I believe all the fabric is from around 1976. There seems to be abundance of red, white, and blue polyester out there on the second hand market. I suspect there are tons more hiding in closets waiting to be made into something. I’ll be looking for it.

I make a lot of bags with really loud colors. It’s kind of a thing. On this one, I tried to tone it down a bit. Just a bit though.  The front is made from a vintage towel. I’m trying to find more vintage towels and do the same kind of thing. It really puzzles me why they don’t make towels like this anymore. I guess they went away just like colored bathroom fixtures. Now we live in a land where all the toilets are white.

The tie I used for the strap is really interesting. I bought a ton of vintage ties from Northern Scout Vintage on Etsy and this is one of them. There is a thunderstorm complete with lightning bolts over a cityscape printed on the tie. Bonus points if you can tell me which city this might be because I have no idea.

For the rest of the fabric, I combined neutral tones such as the vintage 1950s bark cloth on the back and the USMC camo fabric for the liner with yellow fabric for the side of the gusset and under the front flap.

Thanks for swinging by my blog and checking it out! If you have any ideas about color schemes or just sewing in general, leave me a comment. I would love to hear from you.

2 thoughts on “Five new bags for fall

    • I feel your pain. I have more fabric inventory than I can keep track of. I put all the fabric in Rubbermaid tubs and every time I start to dig through them I find some stuff I didn’t even know I had!

      Like

Leave a Reply

